Connect With Us!

Thursday, May 22, 2014

Two UCSC Professors Elected to National Academy of Sciences

Biologist James Estes and seismologist Thorne Lay have had the prestigious honor of being accepted into the National Academy of Sciences. Election to the NAS is one of the top honors a U.S. scientist can receive, and Jim and Thorne join 12 UCSC colleagues as members of this prestigious group.

As a professor of ecology and evolutionary biology, Estes has conducted pathbreaking research on the role of predators in ecosystems. You may be familiar with his work on the role of sea otters in coastal ecosystems.

Lay, a professor of Earth and planetary sciences, is one of the world's leading seismologists. He has made unparalleled contributions to our understanding of earthquakes and Earth's interior structure. Estes and Lay bring a spirit of bold inquiry to their work, and the lasting impact of their research is evident. Full details are available in the press release distributed today by our Public Affairs Office.

  Professor Jim Estes                Professor Thorne Lay

No comments: